1 Nephi 7

Hey, so I haven’t written on this blog in an extremely long time. Sorry, I have been busy with college and honestly forgot that I even had this blog. However for one of my classes here at BYU-Idaho, one of my weekly assignments is to write on a blog. So here go nothing. This is from the first book of the Book of Mormon. The Book of Mormon follows Lehi and his three sons, Nephi, Laman, and Lemuel, and their descendants. Nephi was definitely the good kid. Lehi was a prophet of God, (like Noah, Adam, Abraham, etc.) and Nephi was following the footsteps of his father and followed the commandments of God, however, Nephi’s brothers, Laman and Lemuel, did not follow God’s commandments, as a matter of fact, they often rebelled against their father and God. And sometimes they would get back on the correct path, like after an angel rebuked them, but after a while they would go back to being rebellious. I have never figured out why they continuously fought against the truth of the gospel. In 1 Nephi chapter 7 verses 10-12 Nephi asks his brothers three questions that all start with the same phrase, “How have ye forgotten?” This makes sense why they always rebel after time has passed, they simply forgot. Now, I’m not sure how someone can forget and angel visiting them, but hey, to each their own. Anyway, that was my immediate thought, “How can you forget all that you were blessed with?” But then I asked myself, “What have I forgotten that I’ve been blessed with?” I have a roof over my head, my family, my friends, food, I go to an amazing school and get to learn new things every day, and most importantly, I have a Heavenly Father, who loves me. While I have never necessarily forgotten these things, I definitely got so used to having these things that I don’t even think about how lucky am I to have these things. So as a challenge to you all, take five minutes, and make a list of the things that you’re grateful for having. If y’all want, write your list in the comments!

Till next time!

Leave a Reply

